Get in touch

How to get a CISRS Card

What is a CISRS Card?

The CISRS Card is the certification card that is issued by the Construction Industry Scaffolders Record Scheme (CISRS).

The CISRS card shows that the holder has the skills and training required to undergo scaffolding jobs.

CISRS Scaffolding Labourer Card

CISRS Scaffolding Labourer CardThis card is designed for site operatives and labourers who work on scaffolding operations.

If you hold this card; you cannot work from anywhere other than a safe and secure place such as a solid floor or fully erected scaffold surface. Also, you cannot put up, take down or alter scaffolding.

The card is valid for five years and can only be obtained by taking the CITB Health, Safety and Environment Test and COTS within two years.


CISRS BASE Card (Basic Access System Erector)The Basic Access System Erector Card is supplied to workers who are not scaffolders but do make alterations to scaffolding in their work with a specific scaffold system product.

The card is for these workers whilst they are completing their BASE training. The structures that these specific workers work on have strict limitations.

To obtain this card you must complete the five day BASE course and your CITB Health, Safety and Environment Test within two years of applying.

CISRS Trainee Scaffolder Card

CISRS Trainee ScaffolderThe Trainee Card is required for those who need a skills card whilst they are undertaking scaffolding training to get their CISRS Scaffolder Card.

Whilst holding this card, you can only conduct your work under direct supervision from a more qualified worker.

You must hold the Trainee Card for 6 months before attending part one of training. CISRS split the Trainee Cards into two parts.

To obtain card one you must take your touch screen test and complete the COTS course in two years. To get your part two card you need to complete part one of a CISRS course. Within the 18 month validity of the card, a Trainee holder must complete the following:

CISRS Scaffolder

CISRS ScaffolderOn completion of the relevant CISRS training (see above); you can then apply for your Scaffolder card.

With this card, you are qualified enough to conduct scaffold operations and lead a team in basic scaffold operations.  The card has a lifespan of five years before it requires renewal.

CISRS Advanced Scaffolder Card

CISRS Advanced ScaffolderBefore applying for the Advanced Scaffolder Card you must have been a CISRS Scaffolder for at least a year.

By obtaining the card you will be competent enough to lead a team in all forms of scaffold operations.

To obtain the card you need to have passed the CITB Health, Safety and Environment Test, an NVQ Level 3 in your occupation, the CISRS 2 Day Skills Test and the Advanced Scaffolding Inspection Course.

Which Skills Card Is Right For Me?

For more information on other construction industry skills cards; take a look at our informative guide here: CSCS Cards

Find a course

Our accreditations

  • WJA Logo
  • pasma
  • GQA logo
  • CITB Logo
  • ipaf logo
  • Highfield Approved Centre
  • iosh-Logo
  • nebosh-logo
  • UKATA logo
  • C&G logo
  • EUSR Logo
  • ProQual logo
  • NPORS Logo
  • CISRS logo
  • Fit2Fit logo
  • CABWI logo